Separation by Trial and Testing.(Part 6)

by 7zander

Another word that comes up repeatedly in the study of separation by trial is: Bachan. Strong’s once again rides to the rescue of the illiterate; a primitive root; translated in the AV as try, prove, examine, tempt, trial and adds:

1) to examine, try, prove

1a) (Qal)

1a1) to examine, scrutinise

1a2) to test, prove, try (of gold, persons, the heart, man of God)

1b) (Niphal) to be tried, proved

1c) (Pual) to make a trial

1 Chronicles 29:17 I know also, my God, that thou triest the heart, and hast pleasure in uprightness. As for me, in the uprightness of mine heart I have willingly offered all these things: and now have I seen with joy thy people, which are present here, to offer willingly unto thee. The heart is the area that the Lord is interested in trying.

Job 7:18 And that thou shouldest visit him every morning, and try him every moment? Job was separated for special testing because of who he was and because God wanted to reveal himself to him. In Job’s case the trial was progressive, repeated and sustained. This is what it feels like when you are being tried; there is no respite, even when you lie down to sleep it feels as though you are being chased. Those who are closest to you in your days of trial turn out to be your tormentors rather than your comforters. The people around Job wanted to help; that is what they came for yet they caused as much pain as the trial. It is often a wise thing to shut up when around those who you see suffering. It may be that you will learn from their pain. I think that the sufferers are there as much for our sake as for theirs, to see our reaction and our response. The beggar at your door is there for food and to allow the Lord to see your heart respons to his request.

Job 23:10 But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold. Job had an insight, a revelation into the purpose that God had in trying him. It was not to punish but to bring him forth as gold, refined and pure. Job knew that his death was not the end, that there was an objective beyond the grave: Job 19:23-28 Oh that my words were now written! oh that they were printed in a book!  24 That they were graven with an iron pen and lead in the rock for ever! 25 For I know that my redeemer liveth, and that he shall stand at the latter day upon the earth: 26 And though after my skin worms destroy this body, yet in my flesh shall I see God:  27 Whom I shall see for myself, and mine eyes shall behold, and not another; though my reins be consumed within me.  This is a vital component to the armory of any serious believer to prevent the attack of the frightening enemy; self pity and purposelessness; the road is now but leads to eternity, remember not to get off the road now or you may jeopardize your eternal journey.

Job 34:36 My desire is that Job may be tried unto the end because of his answers for wicked men. Our job is not to try anybody else as our trial is deceitful and harsh.

Psalm 7:9 Oh let the wickedness of the wicked come to an end; but establish the just: for the righteous God trieth the hearts and reins. The righteous and the wicked are tested in heart and mind by a righteous and holy God.

Psalm 11:4-5 The LORD is in his holy temple, the LORD’S throne is in heaven: his eyes behold, his eyelids try, the children of men. 5 The LORD trieth the righteous: but the wicked and him that loveth violence his soul hateth. It as fascinating to see that trying is a response of God to righteousness. God tries the righteous but hates the wicked.

Psalm 17:3 Thou hast proved mine heart; thou hast visited me in the night; thou hast tried me, and shalt find nothing; I am purposed that my mouth shall not transgress. Those who are going though a trial will tell you that the nights are often the very worst because there is no escape from yourself into busyness.   

Psalm 26:2 Examine me, O LORD, and prove me; try my reins and my heart. This is the third time that this passage has come up: the three words: examined, prove and try are connected in this short and powerful scripture. When this line of scripture is read with understanding, David’s warrior spirit and his relentless pursuit of righteousness emerges.  

Psalm 81:7 Thou calledst in trouble, and I delivered thee; I answered thee in the secret place of thunder: I proved thee at the waters of Meribah. Selah.  This is not just a reference to the incident in the wilderness where thee people were thirsty and sinned. This is a pointer along with the reference to thunder to the times in our lives when strife and discord is with us. Meribah means strife and discord. It is easy to be a good little Christian when everything is going well. When strife and discord are in the heart then we realise that the test is on in our lives. Here the psalmist is told how God answered when he called and the intimation is that God will answer when we are in trouble and call. What happens when we are in trouble and call and there is no answer?

Psalm 139:23-24 Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts: 24 And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.  Again a cry goes up from the heart to be discovered and to be examined by God. This is not the response of a worldly Christian; this is a deep cry from someone who wants to go on for God no matter what the price. This is a cry for truth. There is a deep desire to know God and to be known that will stop at nothing.

Proverbs 17:3 The fining pot is for silver, and the furnace for gold: but the LORD trieth the hearts. Again the word speaks to us in the language of the master craftsman bringing the metal to the point of destruction to bring forth gold and silver fit for the master’s use.

Jeremiah 6:27 I have set thee for a tower (an assayer, a tester of metals) and a fortress among my people, that thou mayest know and try their way. Today an assayer is still someone who tests metals by chemical, electrical or heating methods. The object is to find out by assaying the metal what can not be seen with the naked eye by a casual observer. In this case the prophet Jeremiah has been appointed as the refiner and tester of Israel’s metal. In your life the very person who is over you in the Lord, the person who is there to bring comfort and insight from the Lord, could be the person to refine you in the fire.

Jeremiah 11:20 But, O LORD of hosts, that judgest righteously, that triest the reins and the heart, let me see thy vengeance on them: for unto thee have I revealed my cause. Again God is the tester of the heart and the mind. There is a revelation to both God and man that takes place when trial has been undergone. It is interesting that the reins are mentioned as it is a chill in the kidney area that strikes when you realize that God has your number.

Jeremiah 12:3 But thou, O LORD, knowest me: thou hast seen me, and tried mine heart toward thee: pull them out like sheep for the slaughter, and prepare them for the day of slaughter.  

Jeremiah 17:10 I the LORD search the heart, I try the reins, even to give every man according to his ways, and according to the fruit of his doings. Here again we see that God is the tester of the heart and the mind to the purpose of rewarding man according to the fruit of his doings.

Jeremiah 20:12 But, O LORD of hosts, that triest the righteous, and seest the reins and the heart, let me see thy vengeance on them: for unto thee have I opened my cause. Jeremiah realizes that the righteous are tried, it is not punishment, it is God’s mercy, his grace towards those righteous in Christ that allows for trials leading to revelation.

Zechariah 13:9 And I will bring the third part through the fire, and will refine them as silver is refined, and will try them as gold is tried: they shall call on my name, and I will hear them: I will say, It is my people: and they shall say, The LORD is my God. We have come upon this scripture with one of the other words we looked at.

Proverbs 27:21-22

After looking at the scriptures I have no doubt that trials and testing are part of our lives as Christians; the real question is what we are to do when we are tried? My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into diverse temptations; knowing this that the trying of your faith worketh patience. But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.

I can not see into the future, I do not know what plans my Master has for me. But I know His character is faultless. He is absolutely trustworthy. His plans for me are perfect.

 

If you make it down as far as this well done; I would be interested to hear what you think.

We are on the final run in to the end of all things; now is the time to be like the widows that Paul is talking to: in Timothy.  5 She who is a real widow, and is left all alone, has set her hope on God and continues in supplications and prayers night and day; 6 whereas she who is self-indulgent is dead even while she lives.

In answer to you query about embracing suffering and not running from it: (You didn’t know you had asked it did you) I would like you to look at Hebrews 11:35. Take your time and look at the second half of this verse. It is amazing and quite unexpected don’t you think? It opens up a whole chain of thinking that is well worth pursuing.

There is a strong link in scripture between those who suffer in this present age and the level of glory that they are raised to in the age to come.

Luke 16:25. This is a prime example.

Luke 6:24-26.

Job 21:13-14. And so James can say in James 1:2 Count it all joy, my brethren, when you meet various trials, 3 for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. 4 And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.

I am not preaching at you I am just answering your question (you didn’t know that you had asked one) and at the same time learning. You see it is an attitude of mind to the journey that you are on. Your attitude should be one of; good I am going through this trial and it is going to produce something.

3 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! By his great mercy we have been born anew to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, 4 and to an inheritance which is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you, 5 who by God’s power are guarded through faith for a salvation ready to be revealed in the last time. 6 In this you rejoice, though now for a little while you may have to suffer various trials, 7 so that the genuineness of your faith, more precious than gold which though perishable is tested by fire, may redound to praise and glory and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ.

So you rejoice in your trial because it is producing something that is kept in heaven for you.

Read it again and then thank God for the testing and trial that you are experiencing. That is embracing suffering. Thanking God is the right attitude.

But it is also an attitude of mind: Therefore gird up your minds, be sober, set your hope fully upon the grace that is coming to you at the revelation of Jesus Christ. It is a tough attitude! It is an attitude that says I am off to war. They would hitch up or gird up their loins in order to run a race or to go to war.

The next thing that happens when you suffer is that you move into another realm in terms of compromise; when you are suffering who cares about the stupid things like going out and getting drunk and watching movies? 1 Since therefore Christ suffered in the flesh, arm yourselves with the same thought, for whoever has suffered in the flesh has ceased from sin, 2 so as to live for the rest of the time in the flesh no longer by human passions but by the will of God. 3 Let the time that is past suffice for doing what the Gentiles like to do, living in licentiousness, passions, drunkenness, revels, carousing, and lawless idolatry.

Out of the suffering you reap a reward of soberness; I can see this in you already. But this soberness is there for a reason. The end of all things is at hand; therefore keep sane and sober for your prayers. Your prayer life is improved and you draw closer to the Lord. What a blessing. Thank God for your suffering. That is embracing suffering and not running away from it.

Hey don’t be surprised that you are suffering. Listen to this: 12 Beloved, do not be surprised at the fiery ordeal which comes upon you to prove you, as though something strange were happening to you. 13 But rejoice in so far as you share Christ’s sufferings. When Christ went to the cross and in the garden he suffered every form of suffering that we experience today. We are sharing in that suffering in our fear, loneliness and shame. We think of it as unique and ours but it is part of the suffering of Christ.

You have the choice of running away or  Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that in due time he may exalt you. 7 Cast all your anxieties on him, for he cares about you. 8 Be sober, be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking some one to devour. 9 Resist him, firm in your faith, knowing that the same experience of suffering is required of your brotherhood throughout the world.

I hope that this is an answer that speaks to you and is not just words.

Have you ever read Psalm 139 and related it to where you are today?

 

Another word that I looked at was:

6504 parad { paw-rad’}

 

a primitive root; TWOT – 1806; v

 

AV – separate 12, part 4, divided 3, scattered abroad 1, dispersed 1, joint 1, scattered 1, severed 1, stretched 1, sundered 1; 26

 

GK – 7233 { dr’P;

1) to separate, divide

1a) (Qal) to divide

1b) (Niphal)

1b1) to divide, separate

1b2) to be divided, be separated

1c) (Piel) to be separated

1d) (Pual) to be divided

1e) (Hiphil)

1e1) to divide, separate

1e2) to make a division, make a separation

1f) (Hithpael) to be divided, be separated, get separated

Abraham is separated from Lot and Jacob is separated from this brothers. Gen 13:9, 49:26.

Jacob separated the speckled sheep and goats from the rest. Gen 30:40.

Aaron had to separate himself and his sons from the rest of the people Lev 22.2.

The separation to a Nazarite vow. Num 6:2,3.

The separation of the Levites from the people and the separation of Moses ad Aaron from the people. Num 8:14, 16:1.

